THE Island of Lost Girls

Sun-drenched glamour and obscene wealth hide the darkest of secrets and lost girls in this ripped-from-the-headlines thriller.

Winner of the Edgar Award

“Ingenious and original. Real, chilling.”

—Laura Lippman

Winner of the Macavity Award for Best Mystery Novel and nominated for the Anthony Award for Best Paperback Original

“If there has been a better mystery-suspense story written in this decade, I can’t think of it.”

-Stephen King


Best Selling Author

Alex Marwood

Alex Marwood was a journalist who worked extensively across the British press. Her first novel, The Wicked Girls, achieved widespread acclaim and international bestsellerdom. It was shortlisted for ITW, Anthony and Macavity awards, was included in Stephen King’s Ten Best Books of the Year list, and won the prestigious Edgar Award. The Killer Next Door, her second novel, won the coveted Macavity Award for Best Mystery Novel, was nominated for the Anthony and Barry. The Darkest Secret, the tale of the disappearance of young Coco, met with critical and reader acclaim. The Poison Garden is available now, and The Island of Lost Girls is coming in 2022 (UK) and 2023 (US). She has also been shortlisted for numerous other crime writing awards and her first two novels have been optioned for the screen. Marwood lives in London.


So good I wish I’d written it myself

– Val McDermid


One of crime fiction’s brightest stars. Not to be missed

– Megan Abbott


Crime writing at its best

– Lisa Jewell


I can’t wait to see what Alex Marwood comes up with next

– JoJo Moyes